Goose Hunting Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to goose hunting and would like some help on flagging. When do you flag and how long do you flag? Some paople are saying flag untill they hit the ground and other say just to get their attention. And what kind is a good make to purchase.

·
Registered
761 Posts
I flared some birds last year at 100 yards with flagging (late season smart birds). I think as the season goes on it will just be an attention getter.

·
Registered
53 Posts
first geese arent dumb and in the air the can see everything think about this if your flying to a spread and a black thing that doesnt even resemble a goose starts flapping your going to head in the other direction a flag should ony be used on geese as an attention getter no closer than 175 yards or on flaring birds to get them to come around and take another look and FLAGMAN makes good products but the best gooseview.com there flags look just like a goose on a stick

·
Registered
117 Posts
I agree with mallard. Different days the gesse want different things. Same as calling. You got to find what they want.
I have flagged geese all the way to the ground. Now I dont flag when they are over the top. Works best as a attention getter.

·
Registered
10 Posts
If they are on their last pass and they are not going to be in shooting range then flip the flag just a couple of times. This may turn them right over you. But the operative word here is IF.

·
Registered
5 Posts